Adam's Journey

Homeopathic Healing of Autism

Miasm Round Seven – Syphilinum

on June 15, 2012

Adam’s next miasm clearing was Syphilinum.  When I was first educating myself about miasms and their link to autism I remember reading that the syphilis miasm was suspected to be a major contributer to autism.  I braced myself for a difficult healing reaction but turned out to be pleasantly surprised.  Once again, it shows how unique the originating factors of disease are for each child.

As per usual, Adam’s diaper rash immediately disappeared while clearing his last miam (carcinosin) and then returned around three weeks later; a sign which I’ve been interpreting as his body is ready to start clearing the next round.  After going through weeks of irritability and head-bangings following the carcinosin clear, I admit that I was expecting more of the same.  However, this time his healing reaction was much more subdued.  However, Adam did start making mischief again; opening bottles of nail polish, hand creams or whatever he could get his hands on when he was not being closely supervised. One day, he painted our room with Halloween make-up.  Another time, he drew on the furniture with marker.  I consulted our homeopath once I detected a pattern and we decided to wait it out and see if the behaviour disappeared after the healing reaction.  She told me that syphilinum has a dark, destructive energy behind it so this could possibly be the source of Adam’s vandalizations.

In the beginning, I also noted an apparent sadness from Adam. Several times, I noticed him fighting off tears, seemingly out of the blue and I could not determine the cause.  He also wanted the curtains closed all the time.  I didn’t notice any reaction to the sunlight while outdoors, but inside the house he was constantly yanking at the curtains and desperately calling for us to help if he couldn’t completely close them to his satisfaction.

Two weeks after taking his last powder, Adam started to get congested.  The day before he complained that his head hurt (a first in terms of his ability to communicate) and then the following day complained about a tummyache (he ended up having a diarrhea which might explain the tummyache).  At the same time his congestion started, Adam started to get very fussy and irritable.  We also saw parasites in his poop (only once).  He developed a pock mark on his face and I wondered if he was coming down with chicken pox which had been going around in our social circles.  He never developed any more and the pock mark only lasted a day or two.  One night, he complained that his pee-pee hurt.  He was also irritable, cranky but only mildly so (compared to carcinosin).  Six days after the onset of his runny nose, Adam complained again that his head hurt.

Eventually, Adam complained of pains in his mouth.  Upon closer inspection I observed canker sores in his cheeks.  Interestingly enough, I discovered that cankers are one of the first symptoms of syphillis.  At the same time I learned that the bacteria responsible for syphilis, Treponema pallidum, is extremely sensitive to light.  Exposure to light will kill it so it must live inside the human body.  As soon as I read this I thought of Adam pulling the curtains closed to darken the living room.  Hmmmmm….VERY curious indeed.

Once again, I feel the need to remind people that Adam does NOT have syphilis.  Homeopathic miasmic theory suggests that the “energetic footprints” of diseases infecting past generations are genetically passed on.  While they don’t necessarily re-present themselves as the originating disease (in this case, syphilis) they are the root of all chronic diseases.  In Adam’s case, we’re curing any possible contribution of the syphilis miasm towards his autistic state.  You can read more about the syphilis miasm and its chronic manifestations (including headaches, OCD, constipation, ulcers, and miscarriage) here.

Here are some of the notable gains for this phase:

  • Increase in spontaneous conversation.  “Do you want to go to Walmart Adam?”  “Yeeeeaaahhh!  I LOVE Walmart” Then later after bath, “Thanks for taking me to Walmart Dad.”  We were suprised by his memory of a previous event and then bringing it up again later.
  • Social gains.  Adam is inviting me to stay and watch TV with him or stay in bed with him to read books.  We’ve also noted that while playing with his sister there is increased back and forth conversation.  One Sunday afternoon he played with his cousin Rowan outside in the sprinkler (we could see through the window that he was also talking to him).
  • Verbal – gains are hard to put into words but when you catch yourself looking at the husband with your jaw open after something Adam said, gains are most definitely being made.  I hear him saying new words constantly.  And I often hear him repeating a word I had just said; pronouncing it slowly but perfectly, almost as if he’s now mastered the art of HOW to make the proper phonetic sounds and now he wants to expand his vocabulary.
  • Saying sorry, thanks and please.
  • Asking for help more.  Before, Adam would just get frustrated and upset if he was having a difficult time with something and we had to prompt Adam by asking “Do you need help?”  Now, he skips the frustration and spontaneously asks for help.  He’ll even come inside to find me if he needs help with something in the yard. 🙂

All in all, things were pretty much tickety-boo (as Janice, a fellow Heilkunst-lover would say).  Adam’s healing reaction seemed short, mild and we ended up lasting the full five weeks without needing to dive into the next miasm.  We’re supposed to start the next round of miasms, 3 – 5 weeks after finishing the prior set but Adam has never lasted longer than 3 or 3.5 tops.  His body usually shows signs of healing early (i.e. the bum rash) so we’re always starting the next phase earlier rather than later.  This time, we went the full 5 weeks enjoying our happy, cuddly little boy; each day bringing us closer and closer to forgetting the carcinosin nightmare.   I’ll admit that I hesitated at starting lyme.  Begrudgingly, I finally looked at the calendar and wrestled my selfish agenda to the ground.  After all, there is plenty of healing that still needs to be done.  Let’s git r done.

Goodnight everyone.

18 responses to “Miasm Round Seven – Syphilinum

  1. Janice says:

    Hi Hanna: As always, I enjoy reading your updates. So glad to hear that this was a gentle one for Adam. I’m not looking forward to this one at all for Moses, but after reading about Adam’s experience, perhaps I’ll be pleasantly surprised as well…. Interesting about the parasites, the pox mark, the canker sores and the sensitivity to light. It’s all so very fascinating, isn’t it??? I learn a lot from reading about Adam’s experiences.

    It’s always great to hear about those gains!!!!! Glad to hear how well Adam is doing.
    Wow — he’s already onto the last miasm… Hope that it’s a gentle one as well.

    Moses is clearing the second Carc powder now. He developed yet another dental abscess and had another tooth pulled today. As long as he doesn’t develop pneumonia, we’ll be happy!!! Thankfully, he’s still in pretty good spirits, though….

    It’s always an adventure, isn’t it?

  2. livelymom says:

    Definitely an adventure, Janice. Always. Poor Moses. I’m glad that you’re taking your time clearing the carcinosin. I can only imagine his healing reaction if you cleared all doses at once. Yikes! Adam is already well into his Lyme clearing. Things are going OK. He’s been congested for a week and he’s pretty cranky and bossy. Hopefully we’re seeing the worst of it though and he’ll pull through in the next week. After this one, he’s on a break and then he’ll start clearning all the miasms again in the fall. However, we might do a CoRe over the summer. Have you learned anything about this yet? I’m only starting to investigate but it sounds VERY interesting.

  3. Janice says:

    Glad to hear that Adam is doing okay clearing Lyme! And then a well deserved break!!! I haven’t really looked into CoRe as I don’t think they do it in our local Heilkunst office, but I quickly looked it up and I see that they can do distance readings as well. hmmmmm…. I’ll be interested in hearing how it goes for Adam and it might be something I’d be interested in… Is it very expensive?

    • livelymom says:

      I think that we’re going to do a CoRe through our homeopath but she gets the actual reading done by Rudi Verspoor and then she prepares the remedies. I don’t know the actual cost yet but she said it will be cheaper that way instead of doing the whole thing through him. I figure if Adam’s not going to have any homeopathy costs through the summer (since his miasms are on a break) then I’ll invest that money into a CoRe. My homeopath said it’s very good at addressing fears which Adam has but they’re not typical fears that you would normally see.

  4. Brianna says:

    Great to hear how smoothly everything went with syphilinum. It’s interesting how you have come to recognize when a healing regression has ended and Adam is ready for a new clearing. I will be very interested to hear how the CoRe reading goes for you. A friend of mine just did one with her son and she said she is happy with how he is responding to the chosen remedies. What did your homeopath mean by fears that “you would not typically see”? Just curious…

  5. livelymom says:

    Well some fears are very common to certain types of remedies (i.e. fear of water, fear of dogs, fear of the dark, etc.) Adam, however, is scared of our vehicles: i.e two doors being open at the same time, starting the truck before everyone is in and the doors are closed, getting inside the car while the truck is still parked behind it, etc. He’s literally so stressed out and panicked about it that we’ve naturally developed a routine for getting in the truck as a family which minimizes the most stress for Adam. He’s also terrified of certain cartoon characters (i.e. The Wonderpets, Nemo, etc.) Monique says that the CoRe should help uncover remedies that help get to the root of these fears. *Sigh* Here’s hoping!

  6. Brianna says:

    Just saw this reply! Interesting how strange fears pop up like these. My son has recently started being afraid of the lights being turned on in our bedroom. It used to be the opposite?! I hope you see good gains with the Core…cant wait to hear your experience.

  7. Nancy McCallum says:

    Hi, do you think after my son clearing his 1st round of miasms, to include syphilinum 10m, and showing signs of Lymes, that it’s best to attack that and wait on round 2 of miasms..or perhaps giving syphilinum in a lower potency? Mason’s fear, anxiety and OCD have gone sky high since the syphilinum miasm. ( we use a sequential homeopathy center in the US) His homeopath is now focusing on lymes carefully. Any advice would be greatful.

    • livelymom says:

      Hello Nancy! I’m curious what you mean by showing signs of Lyme. Are you talking about the fear, anxiety and OCD?

      • Nancy says:

        Yes, all of those. He also complains of his neck and the backs of his knees hurting, and continues to have a reoccurring fever(almost daily). His symptoms have gotten more intense since the syphilinum and a couple mega clears of various things..DTAP , MMR , etc. We are getting blood work done tomorrow because I just want to know. I realize the test could show negative, but other than PANDAS, the symptoms are really pointing to lymes and Babesia to me. Any thoughts? Please let me know. His clear packets this month contained lymes and confections and insomnia for the days of the packets. Luckily he sleep the entire night last night. 🙂

      • livelymom says:

        I wish I could have all the answers for you but unfortunately this is why they called homeopathy an “art.” Each case is so unique and your homeopath is well trained to identify exactly WHAT the body is trying to say through all these symptoms. Supposedly, there is a reason why the miasms are cleared in a certain order. Adam has shown signs of subsequent miams early but we still treat them in order.

        It could be that Lyme is popping up because we are heading into Lyme season. Apparently, if the Lyme miasm is strongly present in an individual it can “rear it’s ugly head” in August.

  8. Janice says:

    Hi Hanna: How is Adam doing? Looking forward to an update post from you soon…. 🙂

    • livelymom says:

      *Sigh* I know, I know. Adam cleared Lyme WEEKS ago but I haven’t gotten around to finishing my post yet. I’ll try to clear it off my plate soon. 🙂

      Adam’s doing GREAT by the way. We’ve seen HUGE verbal gains which means he gets frustrated less and therefore, less head-banging! I’m so glad to see that self-injurious behaviour go. Stay tuned for more details…

  9. Janice says:

    So great to hear that Adam’s doing so well!!! Yay!!!!!

  10. Janice says:

    Hi Hanna: Since Moses just started clearing Syphilinum, I thought I’d see what some of Adam’s reactions were, and I was relieved to see that some of Moses’ recent reactions have been similar to Adam’s. For example, I noticed today that he has a canker sore (the first one that I’m aware that he’s ever had). So interesting!

    Moses came home yesterday from school with low grade temp, headache, stomach ache and sore throat — which all passed after he threw up, and he ended off the day with the deepest / most energy filled night terror that he ever had. I think that yesterday was the peak of the healing reaction for the first Syph powder, and I plan to give his body a break before we move on to the next one…

    It’s so comforting to read this post and remember that I’m not alone in this. Thanks for your encouragement on my blog tonight. It’s a good reminder for me. I know that we’ve been doing this a long time, but I still need to be reminded that on the other side of healing reactions is true and deep HEALING.

    • livelymom says:

      Moses had canker sores too? Interesting eh? My sister also goes back and reads my blog posts for whatever miasm she’s currently treating her son for. She often sees the same healing reaction symptoms too!

      Glad to hear Moses may be pulling out of his healing reaction relatively quickly. I start Adam on his second round of miasms today. He’s been very obstinate lately so I’m hoping it’s just an indication that he’s ready for his powders.

      You know, I know some people who lose confidence in Heilkunst because they can’t see beyond the symptoms. They panic and lose confidence that true healing is taking place. Moses is soooooo lucky to have a mom who “gets it.” Keep playing that game of Snakes and Ladders Janice. 🙂

  11. Selina says:

    my son had the same healing symptoms except for the light. He want to go to the light more than usual. He also had throat congestion. He is so irritable now.

Leave a Reply

