Adam's Journey

Homeopathic Healing of Autism

Miasm Round Six – Carcinosin

on April 26, 2012

Ooh boy.  This phase was a doozy.  Times a million.  And a half.

Perhaps it was even more exhausting on us since Adam seemed to have a long healing reaction during the last phase and then right on schedule he got a thick yellow-ish green discharge coming from his nose the day before we started the Carcinosin powders.  We just didn’t seem to have that time where Adam normally pulls out of his healing reaction and has a brilliant week of gains.  That is usually the week that renews our spirits and gets us back on the saddle for the next phase.  This time, we were forced to mount the horse bare-back.

Just to give you a little background knowledge, carcinosin is the miasm responsible primarily for cancers but can also cause other ailments such as diabetes or tuberculosis or even chronic fatigue.  Homeopaths have had great success in using carcinosin to treat autistic children.  A child requiring this remedy can often be characterized by perfectionist OCD tendencies (much like the ritualistic behaviours of the autistic child) or very obstinate personalities.  Ooooooh boy.  I can certainly vouch for the obstinate part.

Adam’s healing reaction to the carcinosin was mostly behavioural in nature.  We noticed that he seemed to withdraw a bit; retreating downstairs to play by himself for long periods of time.  His spontaneous use of language diminished significantly as well.  Instead, we heard a lot of echolalia.  He was pretty much chattering non-stop (even while playing alone in his room) but most of the phrases were ones he’s learned from his LeapPad video games (“Level 24” , “Whoops.  You’re out of treats.” , etc.).  I must admit, that we were a little concerned but luckily his language gains towards the end of this phase were totally worth a small period of regression.  Tis the price of healing, my friends!  No pain no gain.

For two weeks or so, Adam was R-A-G-I-N-G and that is probably an understatement.  It’s almost laughable that this is the exact same time that Adam started Applied Behavioural Analysis (ABA) therapy which was recently reintroduced to the Timmins area as a service for families with autistic children.  For those of you unfamiliar with ABA, the purpose is to select a target behaviour and then document the circumstances surrounding each occurence for about a week or so.  Then, a behavioural therapist will look through all the data collected and flag any patterns that occur.  We chose Adam’s “head-banging,” toy throwing and hitting (walls, furniture, us) as his target behaviours.  When his ABA therapist gave us a stack of 30 forms I almost laughed at the sheer number she had given me for a week.  For two weeks, we had to document every occurence and it seemed that we were filling out forms CONSTANTLY.    Turns out, I actually had to photocopy additional forms.  :S

During this period Adam was extremely irritable and sensitive to reprimand.  He was also very anal and routine driven doing the same things over and over and repeating phases over and over until I would repeat them back to him.  We observed headbangings multiple times a day, usually during tantrums that, for the first time, were lasting almost half an hour.  He would be so enraged he would slam doors repeatedly and if I chose to ignore the behaviour he would move closer towards me and throw things or hit the walls or furniture.  A few times, he even struck us.  Needless to say, for the first time I actually felt overwhelmed and stumped at how I could redirect his behaviours or help him calm down.  All my usual tricks were failing and Adam was having a hard time transitioning from being angry to calming down.  We were frustrated, Adam was frustrated and I was exhausted from the task of filling out those ABA forms.  I finally had to tell his ABA therapist that we had likely chosen a period that was completely unrepresentative of Adam’s normal behaviours.

After the first week or so, I contacted our homeopath and desperately asked for her help.  Sometimes, these behaviours can be the result of a healing reaction but they can also be symptoms of requiring a different remedy.  Luckily, I had some emergency powders on hand and we started Adam on a course of Hyoscyamus and later Belladonna.  It seemed to help him significantly and if I had a “Kiss the Homeopath” t-shirt, I would have worn it with pride.

Other “oddities” I noticed this phase was Adam’s increased desire for Almond milk and a ravenous appetite.  Both of these symptoms are linked to the Carcinosin remedy.  Adam also developed a bum rash again. It started out looking like a scratch but eventually became raised, red and angry-looking.  He’s had it for several weeks now and I attribute it to the changing chemistry of his stools and urine.  Maybe he’s detoxing a lot of garbage through his digestive system and it’s irritating his skin.  His stools are continuing to be more solid, which is something we had started observing during the last phase.  He is also having multiple stools a day ( at least 3 or 4).

After a week of raging tantrums, frustration, lack of patience Adam settled down.  Almost immediately, his language improved and I was surprised by his use of fully formed sentences after such a long period of echolalia.  “Mommy, Adam wants to play wish you.”  “Adam wants to help mummy.”  He was also singing silly songs and wanting to interact with me all the time.  His regression towards solitary play had disappeared.

GAINS:

  • Adam’s cognitive gains have taken another leap and he’s started writing words on his magnadoodle.  We already knew that he could spell as he would type out lists of words on the computer or piece together words with wooden letters.  Then we knew he could TRACE letters on his LeapPad but now he actually free hand letters by himself!  It started with individual letters but in the span of a few weeks, he’s writing full words.  Check out the photos we took one Sunday afternoon (he not only WROTE these words by himself but he SPELLED them by himself):

  • Adam seems to go through phases with books.  Sometimes he loves them, sometimes he’s “meh.”  This month, he LOOOOOVES them.  He enjoys with one-on-one time with family and I think in some way he also enjoys the predictability of books that he’s familiar with.  There are no hidden surprises or unexpected twists so they don’t generate any anxiety for him.  While reading, we started noticing that Adam was reading large chunks of the story himself.  We figured he must have memorized the text (and I think in large part, this is the case) but then he started pointing out specific words in the print.  We started quizzing him on words regularly and we discovered that indeed, the kid can read!!  Sometimes, we’ll pick a difficult word like “snuggle” and Adam will say “Snuggle.  Sssssss.  Starts with S.”  Then he’ll scour the text for words that start with “S.”  Sometimes, he’ll even phonetically sound out the whole word while he’s looking for it: “Ssss…nnnn….uhhh…ggggg….llllle.”  Just this morning, I stumbled upon a long-lost pack of reading flashcards in a drawer.  I thought I’d quiz Adam on his reading skills and out of 30 or so cards, I think he stumbled with 4 of them (king, ring, kite and bird).
  • Adam has made significant social gains this period.   All of a sudden, he’s become obsessed with his friends.  Friends, friends, friends.  “Where are my friends?” “I have six friends.” “There are no friends here”.   “Mommy and Adam, friends.”  One afternoon I was babysitting his cousin and as soon he arrived Adam said “Rowan, Adam come to play wish you.”  🙂
  • Adam has started identifying and verbalizing his own emotions (“Adam is sad”) but amazingly he’s also reading facial cues and identifying with the emotions of others!!  “Emersyn’s happy” or “Mommy’s upset.”  (you can tell with that last one that it’s been a harrowing couple of weeks).  :S

So, even though this month was exhausting and extremely trying on our patience, I can’t even begin to tell you how WORTH IT that regressive period was.  With each treatment, Adam always seems to hit a rough patch where he takes three steps backwards and then he springs forward to make up the lost distance AND THEN SOME.  In two and a half months (since about the beginning of February), Adam has taught himself to write, spell and read.  Isn’t that truly incredible!?!?  Our homeopath speaks in terms of “removing blockages.”  Once the blocks are removed, indelible gains are observed.

Excited much?  I AM!!!

We approach the next two miasms with continued optism and hope as Sphylinum and Lyme are supposed to be some of the major miasms contributing to the autistic condition.  The latter was recently discussed in a post in Dr. Mercola’s website called “The Toxic Origins of Autism.”  (FYI – I think this approach towards defining the cause of autism is SPOT ON).

Lord, thank you for your goodness and the many blessings you have bestowed on my family.  Please grant me patience and strength to get through the healing reactions to come.  I’m pretty sure, they’ll be a small price to pay for Adam’s health and well-bring.  Amen.

Goodnight my lovelies.

23 responses to “Miasm Round Six – Carcinosin

  1. Marif says:

    Amazing gains!! They’ve got to make the process worth it, wow!
    Off to watch the video on Dr Mercola’s site.

  2. Janice says:

    Oh, wow, Hanna! So amazing to read about Adam’s amazing progress. He’s a brilliant speller, writer and reader!!!

    Moses is just about doing clearing Medorrhinum, so I’ll be posting about that soon… I actually just finished clearing Carsinosin myself. I found that it brought up a deep rage / anger in me, so it was interesting for me to read that it brought up the same in Adam… We’ll be tackling this one next for Moses, but I will likely give him a bit of a break before we tackle it….

    Great article by Dr. Mercola, by the way — I hadn’t read that one yet… I also agree that it’s spot on!

    Great work, mama! I really feel that Heilkunst / sequential healing is just amazing, and I love hearing about Adam’s continued healing. I agree that the healing reactions, although trying on our patience, is so, so, so worth it!!!

    • livelymom says:

      Yes, I had connected with another parent who said that carcinosin was drawing out all kinds of tantrums from their child as well. You know how they say that holding onto negative emotions is toxic right? And how it can cause cancer? Totally makes sense. I’m sooooo glad Adam was able to purge some of those emotions.

      Thanks again for your continued support, Janice. Looking forward to reading about Moses clearing out Medorrhinum. Now you can be braced for some “obstinate” behaviour when he clears Carcinosin (just in case we’re observing a pattern here). 🙂

      And yes, so so so SOOOOO worth it!!

  3. Janice says:

    “You know how they say that holding onto negative emotions is toxic right? And how it can cause cancer?” So true!!!! I hadn’t thought about that link while clearing carcinosin… Good point!

    By the way, if you feel inspired, I would love it if you would write an overall summary post about how far Adam has come since you started Heilkunst 1.5 years ago!!

    I wish more people knew about Heilkunst / understood it!

  4. Brianna says:

    Hi! I found a link to your blog from Janice’s blog. We are starting our Heilkunst journey next week!!!! Thank you so much for blogging about your experience so newbies like myself can learn the ropes 🙂 I am contemplating doing a blog for our healing journey, as well. We are going to treat both of our children (ages 2 & 3) at the same time. I suck at blogging, but I get so much from reading others, that I’m thinking I should pay it forward. I don’t know…still contemplating. We have done classical homeopathy for about 12 months and have seen nice gains and now looking forward to getting to the roots, so to speak. Thanks again for your blog and I’ll continue to check back.
    Brianna
    PS. I have a daughter named Emerysn, too 🙂

    • livelymom says:

      Hi Briana! It’s very nice to connect with you and thanks for reading my blog. 🙂 I would suggest that if you don’t decide to blog about your experiences that you at least keep a journal so you can keep track of their healing reactions. It could prove to be useful when it comes to making decisions about their health in the future (i.e. my daughter had a big healing reaction clearing out her dental x-rays so I’m gonna think twice about exposing her to them annually). Are your children on the ASD spectrum as well?

      • Brianna says:

        Well..my son is on the spectrum, although does not qualify for a diagnosis any longer. He made big leaps between 2 to 3 years old. He is not “healthy” by any means, has major food intolerances, environmental sensitivities, endurance and GM delays, OCD, anxiety, social engagement issues, and language delays. Ha…when I write it all down it seems pretty bad…but actually most people only see an “awkward kid that is smart and introverted.” We manage the senosry symptoms with diet mostly. My daughter has a mild case of failure to thrive, but not on the spectrum. I have a feeling she would be if we hadn’t intervened at a very young age (6 months). Thanks for the suggestions for blogging/journaling. My daughter had an MRI around the time I noticed she wasn’t growing well…so hopefully that clear will be good for her, as well. I am really impressed with your son’s progress and hope we see some good healing, too. Take care!

  5. Brianna says:

    Oh…and both of my kids are lyme positive per blood testing…I very much agree it is a toxic factor. Does the lyme miasm nosode actually detox lyme when an actual infection is present or is it just the energetic imprint?

    • livelymom says:

      I’m not exactly a Heilkunst expert but more of an enthusiast. 🙂 However, I would think that the energetic imprint of Lyme is what actually causes the Lyme infection so you are actually treating the true CAUSE of the disease. Your Heilkunstler would be able to answer this question for you.

  6. […] in me. It unleashed so much anger. I was angry for most of last month. Interestingly, Hanna’s Adam was also raging when he cleared Carcinosin, so I think that it must be a typical response. […]

  7. briannalomba says:

    Hello! I remember reading in one of your posts that your son started showing parasites in his stool. Do you think this was from homeopathy that he was able to expell them? My daughter has horrible stomach bloating, pains, and absorption issues. We know she has parasites from testing, too. I was just curious if you used other treatments or if they came out naturally? Thank you!

    • livelymom says:

      Hello Brianna,
      I started observing parasites in Adam last summer. Our immediate reaction was to administer some drugstore pinworm medicine which (according to the directions) only needs to be administered once. Well it didn’t work, so we tried again. It STILL didn’t work so I talked to our homeopath. She told us that the fact that we were seeing the parasites was a good sign of healing and that the parasites would leave once his body (i.e. the terrain) was healthy. She said she *could* give us a dropper to get rid of the parasites but that they would never actually leave (or they would keep coming back) as long as his body remained a perfect host environment for the little buggers. Parasites ADORE an unhealthy body (acidic, full of toxins and heavy metals, etc.) so I think the only approach to getting rid of them for good is to adopt a healthy diet (one that alkalizes the body) and to seek out alternative methods that promote true healing of the body. In our case, I firmly believe that Heilkunst homeopathy is working to heal Adam and when his body is finally healthy (i.e. a hostile environment to parasites) they will eventually leave his body. We’re not in any rush because he doesn’t seem to be in distress from the parasites. If he was, I’m pretty sure our homeopath could give us a dropper for some temporary relief until the body heals. Is your daughter on the autism spectrum as well?

  8. briannalomba says:

    Yes 🙂 same Brianna! Thanks for your explanation. We are at the beginning of heilkunst and so I have lots of questions…thanks for putting my mind at ease. No, my daughter is not on the spectrum, but does have health issues that are stunting her growth. She has had parasite issues for a long time (she started testing positive at 8 months). Mebendazole (Vermox) helped both of my kids with an acute pinworm infection, but I think they may have more parasites that haven’t left their bodies yet. We did the GAPS diet which did not help the issue. I actually think they got worse, which is strange, but maybe because of the acid/alkaline thing that you mentioned–GAPS is a high protein/meat diet. Can you give me any recommendations on learning more about the alkaline diet? There is a lot online, but I’m not sure what information is accurate. I’m very happy to hear that your son is expelling them naturally. Are you giving probiotics, too, or anything to help the “terrain”? Thanks again for all of your help. Oh…I’m blogging now, too: http://www.healingwith heilkunst.wordpress.com

      • livelymom says:

        Yay! A new blog to follow! I look forward to reading about your healing journey and hopefully encourage you along the way. 🙂

        I don’t know much about the GAPS diet. However, I DO believe that your intestinal health is very much a factor in your overall physical health. I’m not sure why the creator of the GAPS diet recommends cooking vegetables when I’m leaning more on the side that they should be consumed raw. She says that when you cook the vegetable it turns from a detoxifying food into a nourishing food. I’m under the impression that many of us are loaded with bacteria/yeasts/fungus, etc because they are attracted to a toxic body. Who knows what’s right? All I know is that cooked meats and dairy contribute to a acidic body which attracts parasites and leads to a host of chronic health problems. Raw fruits and vegetables help to alkalize the body and keep parasites at bay.

      • briannalomba says:

        I agree with you on the diet. I think GAPS helps so many people when there is leaky gut and bacteria issues going on. It definitely starves the bad guys out and lets the good guys repopulate. I just don’t think it resolves parasite issues…but that’s just my guess. I have been reading about pleo-morphism and how the body can actually make the bacteria, yeast, parasites.
        We have been juicing on a regular basis for about two months now. I have been giving lots of veggies with every meal, too…and mostly raw. It’s hard, though, because my son is sensitive to salicylates (makes him bonkers and aggressive) which is high in veggies and fruits. I’m hoping this type of diet will be better, especially for my daughter who seems to be having more digestion issues than my son. Take care and thanks for your help!

      • livelymom says:

        Oh my!! I have a feeling that if we got together I could talk to you for hours. 🙂 Yes, I’ve been reading about pleo-morphism as well and how the age-old germ theory falls short in many respects. It makes me have new found respect for what our bodies are actually capable of doing and how modern science may not be fully understanding the full picture of how the body heals itself. Just because germs (bacteria, fungus, parasites) are present doesn’t mean that they CAUSED the illness but could be the result of a healing process that is more complex than we could ever believe! That’s why I don’t panic about Adam’s parasites. He seems to not really notice them and I have faith that his body will purge them (or have no further need of them) in due time.

        I’m still intrigued by the GAPS diet because I believe in A LOT of its recommendations (Kefir, probiotics, bone broths, fermented vegetables, juicing, no processed foods, avoiding dairy, little grains, etc.). However, I get a little nervous about the amount of meat products. I just wouldn’t want to eat too many acidifying foods. Ooooh – have you tried smoothies with your kids?

        Take care yourself and good luck with everything. Please make sure you update your blog with any good dietary tips you come across. 🙂

  9. Janice says:

    It’s 2.5 weeks after the 2nd Carc. powder and Moses is a maniac. I wanted to read this post again to give me a bit of comfort and to remind myself that this will pass!!!! DH thinks that Moses is “a spoiled brat and a punk” because he’s been acting out behaviourally, but I know that it’s just the disease state coming up and out.

    Moses’ appetite has also been ravenous (it normally is, but it’s even so much more extreme right now), so I found some comfort reading that Adam was also ravenous when he cleared Carc.

    Just wanted to let you know that your blog posts help! 🙂

  10. livelymom says:

    Thanks for the encouragement Janice! The only advice I can offer you is to brave out the storm and wait for the gains. By the way, did Moses have any noticeable curiousity or obsession with eggs? Not to eat them but to touch them/play with them? Adam seemed to and another mother noticed the same for her son while clearing Carcinosin. Just something to watch for while Moses clears the next potencies. Be strong Janice! Serenity now! This too shall pass…

    • Janice says:

      Thanks for *your* encouragement and support! hmmm…. I’ll watch out for the interest in eggs… I think today was a tad better than yesterday, so hopefully yesterday was the peak for this healing reaction!

Leave a Reply

